Safety Tips for Summer

June marks the beginning of summer, with many things to look forward to -family gatherings, pool parties, and for children, being out of school.  Here are a few tips for a safe summer.

Underage Drinking

Under Kentucky law, you must be twenty-one years of age in order to purchase or consume alcohol.  The law does not discriminate against location; it is illegal for minors (less than twenty-one years of age) to drink alcohol anywhere, even if an adult (including parents) approves.  It is a criminal offense to permit underage drinking on private or public property if the parent knew, or should have known, about the drinking.  Penalties for this offense can range from $250 fine per violation to a $500 fine and/or 12 months in jail.  In addition to the criminal ramifications, parents can be subjected to severe civil suits in case of personal injury or property damage due to minors consuming alcohol on their property.

At what age does Kentucky law state it is ok for a child to be left alone at home? 

Currently there is no law regarding a set age for a child to be left alone.  It is at the parents or caregivers discretion to make that choice based on the child’s maturity level, and the amount of time the child will be left alone.  We recommend having a conversation with your child about expectations, safety, and how to handle emergency situations.

Noise Complaints

Noise complaints are also a common issue with the longer days.  Noise ordinances are written and regulated by the city in which you live.  Cities also have the right to set curfews for minors.  Communication is always the best way to begin addressing a concern or issue, so we encourage you to contact your city for a copy of the ordinances to familiarize yourself with any regulations. 

If you ever have a question about state or local laws, please contact our office.  We wish everyone an enjoyable and safe summer.   

Posted May 30, 2017 at 12:22 PM