To file a complaint against an adult (18 years of age or older) for a crime or violation
that occurred in Kenton County, you must go in person to the Kenton County Attorney’s
Office located 303 Court Street, room 307, Covington, Kentucky 41011. The hours our
attorneys are available to meet with the public are:
Tuesday – Friday 1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
To file against a juvenile (a person under the age of 18 years), you must go to the Court
Designated Worker’s Office in the Kenton County Justice Center located at 230
Madison Avenue, Covington Kentucky 41011. The telephone number for the Court
Designated Worker’s Office is (859) 292-6421.
An employee of the Kenton County Attorney’s Office will ask you to fill out an application
and affidavit on which you will provide all the detailed information related to your
request. The affidavit will be reviewed by the Kenton County Attorney or an Assistant
Kenton County Attorney and a determination will be made as to whether a complaint will
be taken and, if so, what charges it will contain.
If it is determined by the Kenton County Attorney’s office that criminal charges are
appropriate, a judge will review the complaint and issue one of the following:
After the criminal summons or arrest warrant is served, an arraignment is the first step
in the court process. The charges are read and the defendant is advised of his/her
rights. For misdemeanors and violations, the defendant may enter a plea of “guilty” or
If the defendant entered a "not guilty" plea at the arraignment, the next step is a pretrial
conference. At a pretrial conference, resolution of the case is explored. If there is no
resolution, a trial is set.
Diversion is a possible conclusion of misdemeanors and violations. Diversion allows a
defendant to avoid a conviction if court-ordered conditions are met. Not all defendants
are eligible for diversion. The court will make a determination if a defendant is eligible
If diversion is not ordered or is not successful, misdemeanor and violations will proceed
through the Kenton District Court. If a guilty plea is not entered or if the action is not
dismissed, the case will likely proceed to a bench trial or jury trial. After trial, a
defendant may be found “guilty” or “not guilty”. If found “not guilty”, the complaint is
dismissed. If found “guilty”, the defendant, in addition to being required to pay court
costs, can receive a sentence containing the following:
If jail time is part of a sentence, the defendant can be placed on probation (conditional
discharge) for up to two years. If the defendant meets all the conditions placed on
him/her during that period, he/she will not serve the jail time.
Many times cases have to be continued for various reasons. Please be prepared for this
possibility. The Kenton County Attorney’s Office will make every effort to insure all
charges are prosecuted in a timely and appropriate manner.
You are required to appear at all scheduled court dates after the initial arraignment. It is
your responsibility to keep track of your court dates. When and if your case is set for
trial or a preliminary hearing, at that time it is your responsibility to contact the Kenton
County Attorney’s Office with a list of all witnesses that need to be subpoenaed.
When appearing in court, be sure to dress neatly and appropriately. At any trial or
preliminary hearing, bring with you any relevant witnesses and physical evidence. The
Kenton County Attorney or an Assistant Kenton County Attorney will prosecute the case
and present evidence to the court. Make sure you identify yourself to the prosecutor
prior to court starting, and if you have any questions, ask the prosecutor.